Cue is a small town in the Mid-West region of Western Australia, located 620 km north-east of Perth with a population of 328. Known as “Queen of the Murchison” because of its importance in the gold production of the area, is a fascinating starting point to explore the Murchison and Goldfields regions of Western Australia. Within a day’s drive north of Perth. The most popular time to visit Cue is July to October when the weather is mildest and the winter rains turn the sweeping red landscape into a lively palette of wildflowers. It is a popular destination for seniors heading north and escaping the chills of winter as the average maximum temperature in July (the coldest month) is around 18.5 °C. If you are visiting in summer, be prepared for the heat with January averaging maximum temperatures of 37.8 °C.
Take some time-out in this quiet heritage town and you are sure to enjoy the balance of being surrounded by yesteryear’s charm and today’s outback experience.
Located 27 km West of Cue
Walk back in time through this Goldfield Ghost Town operational from 1937 to 1955 employing up to 470 staff, with more than 1000 people residing at Big Bell. Mine production was suspended during the Second World War between 1943 and 1945, both to free man power for the armed services and for the production of ammunitions and food. War ended and the mine went back to full production until 1955, however a decline in profitability forced its closure in 1955. Meander through the relics of this once booming community.
A salt lake located in the Yilgarn region of Western Australia between Cue and Mount Magnet, it is 80km long and between 10 and 40 km wide, salinity varies according to water levels, the lake fills about twice every 10 years with heavy seasonal rains.
Austin Cemetery is located on the Great Northern Highway, 2.5 km South of Austin and 300 metres in on the right side of the road. There are 13 graves some with headstones and some unmarked, after years of neglect volunteers have marked the burial sites.
Austin Town site is located South of Cue established because of the geological features indicating rich gold fields. In 1985 it had one 10 head Stamp Mill operating just outside town in 1895. It is still visible from the Great Northern Highway.
More than 988 Aboriginal paintings and motifs are preserved in the shallow grave in the side of this monolith, sheltered by a heavy overhang. Walga Rock was a meeting ground for Aboriginal people coming across Australia with paintings representing spears, goannas, snakes and even a sailing ship. Being 5 km in diameter and 1.5km in length take the time to make an easy climb where the magnificent views are well worth the effort and the sunsets are amazing.